Skip to main content

crown chakra explained

Home » Blog » crown chakra explained

Here’s our top guide to the seven major chakras and everything you need to know about them. Today we’ll focus on the crown chakra.

The seventh and final chakra is located on top of the head and is the crown chakra. It is associated with your higher self, enlightenment and spiritual connection. When in balance you have great awareness, consciousness and are full of bright, light energy, connected to the universe and oneness of all that is. 

Mantra: AUM

Colour: violet or white

Key characteristics: spiritual connection, oneness, enlightenment, 

Signs of imbalance: disconnected, lack of purpose in life, low energy levels, never satisfied, greed, superficiality, obsessive thoughts, living in the past or future, obsessive spirituality, rigid, selfish or spiritually unaware, unable to see the bigger picture, problems with the nervous system.

Signs of balance: spiritual, blessed, united, wisdom, open minded, peaceful, joyful, connected, strong nervous system, aware of higher consciousness, bliss, presence.

Physical/body links:  Head, brain, ears, eyes, pineal gland, skeletal and muscular systems as well as the skin.

Element associated: none

Developmental stage: 43 – 49 years old

Yoga poses: savasana, corpse pose, headstand, rabbit pose, lotus pose, crocodile pose, tree pose

Crystals: Selenite, clear quartz, lepidolite, diamond, moonstone

Essential oils: cedarwood, frankincense, myrrh, sandalwood, vitiver


I am oneness

I am aware and awake

I am connected to all that is

I have a strong spiritual connection and to my higher self

I have unlimited possibilities

I tap into my inner wisdom

I understand my life purpose


Massage & Bodywork Therapist